If you are convicted of shoplifting in New Jersey, you will pay for two things: your crime and your conviction. In New Jersey, shoplifting penalties include fines, community service and possible jail times. But, they also allow store owners to recover all of their monetary losses linked to the shoplifting. This might even include the store owners' court fees.
Exactly what is shoplifting?
In New Jersey, shoplifting is defined as taking an item, or attempting to take an item, without paying the full retail value. This can include removing goods from outside a store, hiding items in a bag or on your person, or making changes to price tags.
The penalty is based, in part, on the value of the goods
The retail price of the item(s) shoplifted effect the level of the criminal offense. The more serious the offense, the harsher the punishment.
For example, goods with a retail value less than $500 face fourth-degree charges. These are punishable by a fine up to $10,000 and a possible jail sentence of 19 months. Goods valued $500 to $75,000 may result in third-degree charges which carry fines up to $15,000 and jail terms between three to five years.
Property that is valued more than $75,000 can result in a second-degree offense which is often punishable by a fine of double the price, $150,000, and between 5 -10 years in prison.
As you can see, shoplifting is a serious matter in New Jersey. If you or a loved one has been charged with shoplifting, consider contacting an experienced criminal defense attorney.