For most of us, driving is a part of our daily lives. So is texting, talking on the phone and checking our social media profiles. Keeping these two things - driving and cell phone use - separate is a challenge. Even the safest driver checks a text message while behind the wheel every now and then.
However, if you are caught using your cell phone while driving in New Jersey, you may get in trouble.
No texting while driving
In New Jersey it is illegal to text and drive. There are no exceptions. If you are caught texting behind the wheel, you will be fined. If a police officer sees you texting and driving, that alone is enough to pull you over and fine you.
If caught, you face fines
If you are caught texting and driving, you will be fined. In New Jersey, fines range from $200 to $800, depending on the circumstances.
- First-time offence - fines $200-400
- Second-time offence - fines $400-600
- Subsequent offences - fines $600-800 and points assessed to your driving record
Being pulled over
If you think that you are safe from getting pulled over because you are not doing anything else illegal, think again. Texting alone is enough.
Police officers do not need any other reason to pull you over. They do not need to see you run a red light, run a stop sign, hit something or commit any other infraction. If they see you texting and driving, they can pull you over.