People make mistakes. If this is not the first time that you’ve faced a DWI, though, you shouldn’t make the mistake of not protecting and defending yourself.
New Jersey takes third-offense DWIs very seriously. You will likely not be able to expunge or remove a DWI from your record, and a third offense could lead to significant financial, social and administrative penalties.
What are the penalties for a third-offense DWI?
New Jersey penalizes a third-offense DWI with:
- Fines of $1,000
- An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for between one and three years
- A motor vehicle surcharge of $3,000 (or $1,000 per year for three years)
- An 8-year suspension of your driver’s license
- Mandatory imprisonment for at least 180 days in county jail
It is also possible that your vehicle could be confiscated temporarily and impounded if you are caught drinking and driving.
Are there any ways to defend yourself against a third DWI?
It may be harder to defend yourself against a third DWI since you have a history of DWIs on your record, but it’s not impossible. The police still need to have had a reason to pull you over, and they will need to show that they performed that traffic stop as required by law. They will also have to show that any tests given were done so accurately. If they did not give the Breathalyzer test correctly or there wasn’t any real reason to pull you over, then you may have an opportunity to defend yourself.
There are dozens of reasons to defend yourself against a DWI charge. Our website has information on the steps to take if you’re accused.