Ignition Interlock Device

Hundreds of 5 Star Reviews

Ignition Interlock Device
Badge1

Super Lawyers Selection Process

Badge4

Avvo Selection Process

Badge2

Super Lawyers Selection Process

Badge3

Avvo Selection Process

Lead Counsel | Verified

Lead Counsel 

*No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Drunk Driving DWI/DUI
  4.  » 
  5. What Are The Penalties If I’m Convicted?
  6.  » Ignition Interlock Device

When you are convicted of a DWI/DUI in New Jersey, the court hands down a variety of punishments. Some sentences are aimed at punishing your bad behavior, some are aimed at educating and rehabilitating you, and some are aimed at preventing you from driving with alcohol in your system again.

The New Jersey ignition interlock program falls into the third category. Under New Jersey law, drivers convicted of DUI will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicles. Depending on your case, you may need to keep the IID installed for months or years following your conviction.

  • First offense with a BAC under 0.10%: Your IID must remain installed for three months. After installation, your license will be returned to you.
  • First offense with a BAC between 0.10% and 0.15%: You must keep the IID installed anywhere from seven to 12 months. Your license will be returned to you after you show you have installed the device.
  • First offense with a BAC higher than 0.15%: Your license will remain suspended for four to six months following the installation of your IID. You must keep the IID installed for an additional nine to 15 months after your license is returned to you.
  • Repeat offense: If you were previously convicted of DWI, you may need to keep the IID installed for up to four years after your license is reinstated.

An interlock device requires the driver to blow into it to start the car. The device also will require the driver to randomly blow into it during their drive (sometimes as frequently as every 30 seconds) to ensure that alcohol was not consumed at some point during the drive. If the driver blows a BAC level of .05% or higher, the vehicle will not start.

The presence of an ignition interlock device can be an embarrassing hassle, but breaking or ignoring the terms of your New Jersey ignition interlock device is something you do not want to deal with. Like the breathalyzer test, the device is not foolproof in determining your BAC, and there are situations in which the results can and should be contested.

At the Law Offices of Thomas Carroll Blauvelt, LLC, I will fight for your legal rights and work hard to get you the best results possible. As a former DWI prosecutor and DWI public defender, I know both sides of the law and all the relevant defenses available to you at every stage of your case. I have had hundreds of DWI cases dismissed or downgraded and have the experience you want on your side. I understand how frustrating and confusing a New Jersey DUI charge can be, and during your first initial consultation, I am here to answer all your questions and explain the process to you. If you are dealing with a New Jersey DWI charge or issues related to your mandatory ignition interlock device, give me a call today at 877-676-7729. I am here to help. I look forward to speaking with you.

Areas of Practice

As Seen In

  • Newjersey Logo
  • Mtv Logo
  • Superlawyers Logo
  • App Logo