Thomas Carroll Blauvelt Esq.
Thomas Carroll Blauvelt
Intoxicated Drivers Resource

*No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

Intoxicated Drivers Resource

Punish. Educate. Rehabilitate. Prevent. There are many reasons why there are so many and such a variety of punishments attached to a New Jersey DUI/DWI conviction. For instance, fines and jail time are aimed at punishing you for bad behavior; whereas the installation of an ignition interlock device in your car is intended to prevent you from driving while intoxicated again.

Mandatory for any New Jersey alcohol-related traffic offense (including boating) committed by a licensed New Jersey driver, the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program (IDRC) is intended to educate and rehabilitate you while simultaneously preventing recidivism. Held at one of the many Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers located throughout the state, all New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Programs (IDP) have the following features:

  • Alcohol and highway safety education courses
  • Individual alcohol and drug evaluations to determine if further treatment is needed. If treatment is needed, there is a 16-week minimum treatment course, with many lasting much longer.

New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Programs are either 12 hours (six hours over a two-day period) or 48 consecutive overnight hours, depending on the specifics of the conviction and individual history. For many individuals, the NJ IDRC course is the first time they recognize that they have an unhealthy relationship with drugs or alcohol and represents a chance to confront it head on with the assistance of professionals. For others, the images and stories told during the alcohol and highway safety education courses are eye-opening and enough to never drink and drive again.

Not only is the program mandatory, but it costs money, too. A first-time offender must pay $100 attendance fee to the NJMVC, a $230 first-time offender fee to the IDRC and a $100 license restoration fee to the NJMVC. Second-time offenders must pay the basic attendance and license restoration fee with an increased second-time offender fee. In addition to fees, there are significant penalties attached to those individuals who fail to attend or meet the requirements of their mandatory IDRC course. When dealing with a New Jersey DWI, it is best to work with an experienced attorney to help get you the best results possible. Get in touch with the Law Offices of Thomas Carroll Blauvelt, LLC, today: 877-676-7729.

As a former DWI prosecutor and DWI public defender, I know both sides of the law and will use my extensive experience to fight for you. I have handled hundreds of DWI cases and have the experience you want on your side. If you are dealing with a New Jersey DWI charge or issues related to your mandatory Intoxicated Driver Program course, give me a call today. I am here to help and available seven days a week. I know how confusing and frustrating this time can be. I look forward to speaking with you.

Areas of Practice

As Seen In

  • New Jersey Monthly
  • MTV
  • Super Lawyers
  • app | Part of the USA Today Network